Jumping the Start: 16th Annual Shipwreck Beads Modified Nationals presented by FinishLine Graphics/Dwarf Car Nationals 
One of the most popular weekends for Grays Harbor Raceway is getting closer and closer. The 16th annual Shipwreck Beads Modified Nationals presented by FinishLine Graphics are being held Friday and Saturday. Plus, the Pacific Hardtop Racing Association (PHRA) will have its Dwarf Car Nationals both nights.

Nick Trenchard is the defending Modified Nationals champion. He started last year’s main event on the pole, and led from green to checkered. 2010 Mod Nats winner Jason Beaulieu finished second, followed by Vernon “Bubba” Foster, Matthew Drager, and Lawrence O’Connor.

In the PHRA portion of the Modified Nationals, Josh King began the race in the twelfth position and it only took him just over five laps to get by Henry Corbin, III for the lead. Josh would go on to cruise to an easy win. Brock Peters crossed the line in second with Corbin third, Eric Bergquist fourth, and Corey Esteban fifth. Corbin was the winner of the May 30 race at GHR. The second spot went to Tim Hester with Bergquist, Jess Turner, Sr., and Glenn Hester third through fifth.

Friday’s main event for the Mod Nats pays $1,000 to the winner, then it’s bumped up to $2,000 to win Saturday’s show. Two special races are part of the program, as the Champions Challenge takes place Friday and the Race of the States is on Saturday’s card. The Champions Challenge is a $500-to-win race, while the winner for the Race of the States gets $200.

This year’s running of the Modified Nationals promises to be an action packed two-day show. Look for drivers from the western U.S. and Canada to fill the pit area and excite the Grays Harbor crowd.


Add Comment
Comments are not available for this entry.